Praying A Personalized Lord’s Prayer

When we pray, we should pray from our hearts, not use a memorized prayer that comes from the brain, instead of the heart.

When the disciples went to Jesus, asked Him to teach them to pray, Jesus used what we call the Lord’s Prayer, to show them, and us how to pray. The two scripture locations (Matthew 6:9-13 & Luke 11:2-4), where the Lord’s Prayer is recorded, each have variation to the wording, but still say the same thing. I feel the variation in the wording by the two gospel writers is, also, an indication to us that we should vary our prayers.

One way to use the Lord’s Prayer among your other prayers is to personalize it and vary the personalization each time. This prayer is only offered as an example. Please do not memorize it.

My Father
Who art in heaven and thank you Lord that someday I will be with You in heaven.
Hallowed be Thy name for thou are holy.
Thy kingdom come
Thy will be done as in heaven, so in earth. And Lord I want your will in my life.
Give me this day my daily bread.
Forgive me this day my debts as I forgive my debtors.
Lord, please forgive me for the unkind words I spoke to my friend.
Lead me not into temptation for Lord I am so weak in You
but deliver
me from evil I need your protection Lord.
For thine is the kingdom, the power, and the glory for ever and ever
Thank you I will be living with you forever!
Amen

Comments are closed.